Local Section News

Dr. Schnyder Addresses Northeast Section AOCS

At their regular meeting, Feb. 1, 1966, at Whyte's Restaurant in New York, the Northeast Section of the American Oil Chemists' Society was addressed by W. A. Schnyder of Hoffman-La Roche, Inc., on the subject, "Chemistry of Carotenoids." This enlightening talk was followed by a lively question-and-answer period.

At the short business meeting prior to the address, members were reminded to plan now to attend the all-day symposium of the Northeast Section at the Hotel Essex House, Newark, New Jersey, on Tuesday April 5, 1966. George Raupp, Symposium Chairman, has developed a most interesting program under the overall title "Odors and Flavors of Fatty Materials." Section membership is not required for meeting attendance, and a large group interested in the symposium subject is expected to attend. Advance reservations may be made by contacting the secretary of the Northeast Section, Frank Naughton, The Baker Castor Oil Company, 40 Avenue A, Bayonne, New Jersey.

Monterrey Section

Under the chairmanship of F. P. Khym, the members of the Instituto Mexicano de Quimicos de Grasas y Asceites met in the Hotel Ancira on Nov. 29, 1965, accompanied by their wives.

This supper meeting was a milestone in the progress of technical activities that have come to pass since the founding of their AOCS section. The Section, first in Latin America, was founded early in 1965, and now numbers 40 members.

Guest speaker for the evening was J. A. Dominguez, Director of the Biochemistry Department of the Monterrey Technological Institute. His subject matter was related to the various types of Mexican herbs and flowers that produce oil-bearing seeds used for nutritional purposes. In spite of the technicality, the honored guests were extremely interested.

President of the group is F. P. Khym; Secretary, Ing. Angel Abrego; treasurer, T. Zavala.

North Central Section

You, Too, Can Climb on the Band-Wagon

The North Central Section is continuing the fund raising started last year to help recipients of the Bailey Award receive the honor in person, when such help is needed. Many times, the monetary assist, either in transportation, lodging, or both, would have brought the recipient himself to the presentation instead of his receiving the honor through a stand-in. Last year the late T. P. Hilditch, Professor Emeritus at the University of Liverpool and author of books and papers considered "Bible" by most fat Chemists (thin ones, too, we presume), was the medalist. He was unable to come over from England, because of illness, and the honor was accepted for him by Dr. Frank D. Gunstone, who was in America on a business trip. Had Dr. Hilditch been well, but unable to fully finance his trip, the fund would have come into use; it's as simple as that.

The Bailey Award, for the benefit of newcomers, was established for "Outstanding Research and/or Service in the Fields of Oils, Fats, Waxes and Allied or Associated Products," to use the exact terminology, by the North Central Section of the Society. It commemorates Alton E. Bailey, whose books, like Dr. Hilditch's, are standards.

The fund was made up of honoraria in the amount of \$50 each, from companies or individuals and being carried on by Ceil Gilmore, last year's president of the North Central Section. So far this year the contributing companies are: Lever Bros. Company; Central Soya; Durkee Famous Foods; Distillation Products Industries; DeLaval Separator Company; Liquid Dynamics; E. H. Sargent & Co.; General Mills, Inc.; Johnson's Wax Fund, Inc. (S. C. Johnson and Sons, Inc.); Archer-Daniels-Midland; Oscar

Mayer & Co.; Anderson-Clayton; National Dairy Products Corp.; NAFCO (North American Fibre Co.); Corn Products Corp.; and Mead Johnson Research Center.

Wouldn't you like to join this worthy cause? Send it

Wouldn't you like to join this worthy cause? Send it to Ceil Gilmore, % Durkee Famous Foods, 2333 W. Logan Blvd., Chicago, Ill.

• Names in the News

M. R. Stephens, former assistant commissioner for regulations in the Food and Drug Administration, has been named president of the Institute of Shortening and Edible Oils. His office is at the Institute's headquarters in Phoenix, Ariz.

D. R. HINKLEY has been elected to the newly created post of Executive Vice-President of Emery Industries, Inc. He brings to the office considerable experience in international management and marketing.

R. P. Trauth (1951) has been appointed vice president and general manager of the chemical division of Darling & Company. Announcement was made by Nelson Morris II, president of the firm.

Promotion of C. C. Yann to chief development engineer has been announced by the Votator division of Chemetron Corporation, Louisville, Ky.

Paul Sartoretto has been elected president of the W. A. Cleary Corporation, New Brunswick, N. J., succeeding the late W. A. Cleary. J. L. Cleary has been reelected vice president. Margaret Cleary was appointed chairman of the board, and George Boehm retains the office of treasurer.

